Adventist Education Elementary Standards

Standards — what learners should know (content) and be able to do (skills), serve as the framework for curriculum development. Standards in NAD Seventh-day Adventist schools reflect the Adventist worldview across the K-12 curricula as well as the integration of national and provincial/state standards. The Adventist worldview accepts the Bible as the standard by which everything else is measured. Four key concepts emerge from a biblical worldview that can be used as a lens for curriculum development, as well as informing the essential questions and big ideas of any content area:

  1. Creation (What is God’s intention?)
  2. Fall (How has God’s purpose been distorted?)
  3. Redemption (How does God help us to respond?)
  4. Re-creation (How can we be restored in the image of God?)

The lower elementary level Palisades Christian Academy continues to establish a foundation for life-long learning. In the early grades, our students are led through learning experiences of discovery, exploration, independent projects and sharing of ideas. Our students are provided opportunities to grow culturally, aesthetically and demonstrate positive self-concepts. They learn and develop the ability to work well in cooperative groups, to logically process and solve problems and they become proficient to stellar readers. Ultimately, it is our goal to train students to become confident and responsible citizens, who live for Jesus.